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BEFORE THE OREGON 

STATE BOARD OF NURSING 
 

   

 

In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR  

Angela Cain, RN ) CIVIL PENALTY 

 )  

201402300RN ) Reference No. 17-00229 
 

   

 

 
 

 

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing, 

regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses (RNs).  

Angela Cain (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on April 28, 

2014.  

 

On or before April 25, 2016, Licensee should have renewed her RN license.  Licensee failed to 

timely renew, and her license expired on April 26, 2016. 

 

From the date Licensee’s license expired on April 26, 2016, until July 11, 2016, she continued 

to practice nursing at Village at Keizer Ridge in Keizer, Oregon. Ms. Cain submitted an 

application for reactivation of her license, which was received by the Board on July 26, 2016. 

 

On August 04, 2016, Board staff sent Licensee a notification letter informing her of a potential 

civil penalty for practicing nursing without a current license.  At that time, the Board requested 

additional information from her on which to base the assessment (dollar amount) of the civil 

penalty. 

 

On August 04, 2016, the Board received substantiated information from Licensee establishing 

that she was practicing nursing a total of 11 days between the dates of April 26, 2016 and July 

11, 2016 (allowing for the 60 day late renewal period immediately following the expiration 

date.) 

 

By the above actions, Licensee has violated ORS 678.021, which provides as follows: 

 

ORS 678.021 License required to practice nursing.  

 

It shall be unlawful for any person to practice nursing or offer to practice nursing in this state 

or to use any title or abbreviation, sign, card or device to indicate the person is practicing 

either practical or registered nursing unless the person is licensed under ORS 678.010 to 

678.410 at the level for which the indication of practice is made and the license is valid and in 

effect. 

 

The foregoing is grounds for imposing a civil penalty pursuant to ORS 678.117 and OAR 851-

045-0100(2)(a) which provide as follows: 

 

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules. 
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  (1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the 

amount of civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 

678.445 or any rule of the board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000. 

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the 

following factors: 

  (a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the 

provisions of ORS 678.010 to 678.445 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto. 

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty. 

  (3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such 

terms and conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public 

health and safety. 

(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745. 

(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account 

described in ORS 678.170. 
 

OAR 851-045-0100 Imposition of Civil Penalties 

 

  (2) Civil penalties may be imposed according to the following schedule: 

  (a) Practicing nursing as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Registered Nurse 

(RN), Nurse Practitioner (NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) 

or Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) without a current license or certificate or 

Board required concurrent national certification; or prescribing, dispensing, or 

distributing drugs without current prescription writing authority, due to failure 

to renew and continuing to practice: $50 per day, up to $5,000. 
 

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter.   

 

Prior to April 26, 2016, Licensee has no disciplinary history prior to this date.  Licensee is 

experiencing financial hardship.   

 

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed 

to by Licensee:   

 

 That the Board impose a civil penalty against Licensee in the amount of $550.00. 

 

Based on the evidence, Licensee was practicing nursing without a current license a total 

of 11 days between the dates of April 26, 2016 and July 11, 2016 (allowing for the 60 day 

late renewal period immediately following the expiration date), equaling a total civil 

penalty of $550.00.  Based on the mitigating factors that Licensee has no prior 

disciplinary action and is experiencing financial hardship, the Board has determined that 

the civil penalty may be reduced by 50% to $275.00.    

 

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate and that her actions constitute a 

violation of the Nurse Practice Act.  
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Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval 

and is subject to the Board's confirmation. 

 

Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, she waives the 

right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or 

appeal thereof.  Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion 

have been used to induce her to sign this Order. 

 

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record. 

 

 

Licensee shall make a lump sum payment of $275.00 or monthly payments of not less 

than $23.00 in any one payment, the first payment to be received by the Board before the 

end of business on September 25, 2016 and a like payment on the 25th day of every 

month thereafter until the whole sum is paid.  Payments shall be made payable to the 

Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Portland, OR 

97224; alternatively, payment may be made by phone at 971-673-0685.  
 

  

Licensee understands that any past due amount over 90 days old may be assigned to the 

Oregon Department of Revenue. In the event any amount is assigned for collection, the 

Licensee is subject to further disciplinary action by the Board which could include revocation 

or denial of licensure. 

 

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs 

this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.  
 

 
 

 

  

   

Angela Cain, RN  Date 

 

 

 

ORDER 

 

IT IS SO ORDERED: 
 

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON 

 

 

 

 

Jacy Gamble 

Investigations Manager 

 Date 
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