BEFORE THE OREGON
STATE BOARD OF NURSING

)
In the Matter of ) FINAL ORDER OF REVOCATION
Wendi Schaefer, RN ) BY DEFAULT

)

)
License No. 091007383RN ) Reference No. 14-00936

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing,
regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses. Wendi
Schaefer (Licensee) was issued a registered nurse license by the-Board on December 10, 1991.

This matter was considered by the Board at its meeting on April 23, 2014.

On March 3, 2014, a Notice stating that the Board intended to Revoke the Registered Nurse
License of Wendi Schaefer was sent to her via certified and first-class mail to her address of
record. The Notice alleged that Licensee had violated the terms and conditions of her
probation.

The Notice granted Licensee an opportunity-for-hearing if requested within twenty (20) days of
the mailing of the Notice. No such request for hearing has been received by the Board. The
Notice designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after consideration of its records and files related to this matter, the
Board enters the following Order:

-1-
FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on the evidence submitted through the Notice and the agency file in this case, the Board
finds the following:

1. Licensee was issued a Registered Nurse License in the state of Oregon on December
10, 1991.

2. On‘August 21, 2013, the Board placed Licensee’s Registered Nurse license on a 3-
month suspension and until she completed at least three (3) formal courses of study
focusing on professional boundaries, documentation, and ethics in health care. This
would be followed by 36 months of Probation.

3. On December 17, 2013 in Coos County court, Licensee was sentenced to serve time in
Coffee Creek Correctional Facility followed by 36 months of court probation. She was



also fined $4,000 in restitution related to charges associated with Aggravated Theft in
the First Degree, Theft in the First Degree and Criminal Mistreatment in the First
Degree of an elderly patient she had provided private home health care services for.

4. On March 3, 2014, Board staff mailed a Notice of Proposed Revocation to Licensee via
first-class and certified mail. The Notice granted Licensee twenty (20) days from the
date of the mailing of the Notice to request a hearing. The Notice also designated that
the agency file would be the record for purposes of default.

-11-
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Board has jurisdiction over the Licensee, Wendi Schaefer, and over the subject
matter of this proceeding.

2. That Licensee’s conduct is in violation of ORS 678.111.(1) (f); and OAR 851-045-
0070 (1) (a) and (c) (e) (n); (2) (9); (3) (a) and (b)-and.(h); (4) (b).

3. That Licensee defaulted on the Notice by not-requesting a hearing within the allotted
twenty (20) days and, as a result, pursuant to-ORS 183.417(3), the Board may enter a
Final Order by Default.

-TH-
ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and the Board being fully
advised in the premises, it is hereby:

ORDERED that the Registered-Nurse License of Wendi Schaefer is Revoked.

DATED this day of April, 2014

FOR.THE BOARD OF NURSING OF THE STATE OF OREGON

Kay Carnegie, RN, MS
Board President
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TO: WENDI SCHAEFER:

You may file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing of this Order. Reconsideration or
rehearing may be obtained by filing a petition with the Board of Nursing within (sixty)60‘days
from the service of this Order. Your petition shall set forth the specific grounds for
reconsideration. Reconsideration or rehearing is pursuant to the provisions in ORS 183.482.

As an alternative to filing a Petition for Reconsideration of this Order, you are-entitled to
judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition with the
Oregon Court of Appeals for review within sixty (60) days from the date of.service of this
Order. Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS 183.482.

INCLUDE ONLY IF FOR REVOCATION: If, after a minimum of three (3) years, you

wish to reinstate your Registered Nurse License, you may submitan-application to the Board
to request reinstatement.
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