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BEFORE THE OREGON 

STATE BOARD OF NURSING 
 

   

 

In the Matter of ) STIPULATED ORDER FOR  

Cheri Atkinson, RN ) CIVIL PENALTY 

 )  

200740681RN ) Reference No. 19-01325 
 

   

 

 

The Oregon State Board of Nursing (Board) is the state agency responsible for licensing, 

regulating and disciplining certain health care providers, including Registered Nurses (RN).  

Cheri Atkinson (Licensee) was issued a Registered Nurse license by the Board on March 21, 

2007. 

 

On or before January 30, 2019, Licensee should have renewed her RN license.  Licensee failed 

to timely renew, and the license expired on January 31, 2019. 

 

From the date Licensee’s license expired on January 31, 2019 until April 30, 2019, she 

continued to practice nursing at Regency Village in Redmond, Oregon. 

 

On May 8, 2019, Board staff sent Licensee a notification letter informing the Licensee of a 

potential civil penalty for practicing nursing without a current license.  At that time, the Board 

requested additional information from her on which to base the assessment (dollar amount) of 

the civil penalty. 

 

On May 10, 2019, the Board received substantiated information from Licensee establishing 

that they were practicing nursing a total of 22 days between the dates of January 31, 2019 and 

April 30, 2019 (allowing for the 60 calendar days immediately following the license expiration 

date). 

 

By the above actions, Licensee has violated ORS 678.021, which provides as follows: 

 

ORS 678.021 License required to practice nursing.  

 

It shall be unlawful for any person to practice nursing or offer to practice nursing in this state 

or to use any title or abbreviation, sign, card or device to indicate the person is practicing 

either practical or registered nursing unless the person is licensed under ORS 678.010 to 

678.410 at the level for which the indication of practice is made and the license is valid and in 

effect. 

 

 

The foregoing is grounds for imposing a civil penalty pursuant to ORS 678.117 and OAR 851-

045-0100(2)(a) which provide as follows: 

 

ORS 678.117 Procedure for imposing civil penalty; amount; rules. 
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  (1) The Oregon State Board of Nursing shall adopt by rule a schedule establishing the 

amount of civil penalty that may be imposed for any violation of ORS 678.010 to 

678.445 or any rule of the board. No civil penalty shall exceed $5,000. 

(2) In imposing a penalty pursuant to this section, the board shall consider the 

following factors: 

  (a) The past history of the person incurring the penalty in observing the 

provisions of ORS 678.010 to 678.445 and the rules adopted pursuant thereto. 

(b) The economic and financial conditions of the person incurring the penalty. 

  (3) Any penalty imposed under this section may be remitted or mitigated upon such 

terms and conditions as the board considers proper and consistent with the public 

health and safety. 

(4) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in ORS 183.745. 

(5) All penalties recovered under this section shall be credited to the special account 

described in ORS 678.170. 
 

OAR 851-045-0100 Imposition of Civil Penalties 

 

  (2) Civil penalties may be imposed according to the following schedule: 

  (a) Practicing nursing as a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Registered Nurse 

(RN), Nurse Practitioner (NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) 

or Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) without a current license or certificate or 

Board required concurrent national certification; or prescribing, dispensing, or 

distributing drugs without current prescription writing authority, due to failure 

to renew and continuing to practice: $50 per day, up to $5,000. 
 

Licensee wishes to cooperate with the Board in this matter.   

 

Prior to January 31, 2019, Licensee timely renewed this license.  Licensee has no disciplinary 

history prior to this date.  Licensee is experiencing financial hardship.   

 

Therefore, the following will be proposed to the Oregon State Board of Nursing and is agreed 

to by Licensee:   

 

Based on the evidence, Licensee was practicing nursing without a current license a total 

of 22 days between the dates of January 31, 2019 and April 30, 2019 (allowing for the 60 

calendar days immediately following the license expiration date), equaling a total civil 

penalty of $1,100.00.  Based on the mitigating factors that Licensee has a record of timely 

renewals, no prior disciplinary action and is experiencing financial hardship, the Board 

has determined that the civil penalty may be reduced by 50% to $550.00.    
 

That the Board impose a civil penalty against Licensee in the amount of $550.00. 

 

Licensee admits that the above statements are accurate and that her actions constitute a 
violation of the Nurse Practice Act.  

  

Licensee understands that this Order will be submitted to the Board of Nursing for its approval 

and is subject to the Board's confirmation. 
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Licensee understands that by signing this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty, she waives the 

right to an administrative hearing under ORS 183.310 to 183.540, and to any judicial review or 

appeal thereof.  Licensee acknowledges that no promises, representations, duress or coercion 

have been used to induce her to sign this Order. 

 

Licensee understands that this Order is a document of public record. 

 

Licensee shall make a lump sum payment or monthly payments of not less than $45.84 in 

any one payment, the first payment to be received by the Board within twenty (20) days 

from the date Licensee’s signature on this Stipulation and thereafter, a payment on the 

25th day of every month until the whole sum is paid. Payments shall be made payable to 

the Oregon State Board of Nursing at 17938 SW Upper Boones Ferry Road, Portland, 

OR 97224; alternatively, payment may be made by phone at 971-673-0685.  
 

Licensee understands that if payment is 30 days overdue from the date due as stated in this 

Stipulation, collection of the Civil Penalty will be assigned to the Oregon Department of 

Revenue. In the event any amount is assigned for collection, the Licensee is subject to further 

disciplinary action by the Board which could include suspension, revocation or denial of 

licensure. 

 

Licensee has read this Stipulated Order, understands this Order completely, and freely signs 

this Stipulated Order for Civil Penalty.  
 

 
 

 

   

   

Cheri Atkinson, RN  Date 

 

 

 

ORDER 

 

IT IS SO ORDERED: 
 

BOARD OF NURSING FOR THE STATE OF OREGON 

 

 

 

Jacy Gamble 

Investigations Manager 

 Date 

 

 

   

 


